Community Catalyst

NONPROFIT NETWORK – Strengthening Nonprofit Governance & Management 


The mission of the Nonprofit Network is to strengthen nonprofit governance and management in Jackson County. The Nonprofit Network began as a direct result of the Jackson Community Foundation’s responsiveness to the expressed needs and desires of Jackson’s nonprofits.  Today it is a growing and thriving nonprofit organization serving not just Jackson County nonprofits, but nonprofits across the region.
Since Nonprofit Network opened its doors in 1999, it has acted as a community collaborator and point of coordination for gathering and disseminating information pertinent to nonprofits. The Nonprofit Network further assists the nonprofit community through providing specialized management and governance development services including workshops, organizational assessments, consulting, and board member recruitment, matching and training.


For more information about the Nonprofit Network, visit 

​COLLEGE AND CAREER ACCESS CENTER – Navigating the Pathway to Your Success


The goal of improving access to higher education became a priority when the Jackson Community Foundation unveiled The Jackson Legacy Program in 2008. In order to bring college access awareness to Jackson County residents, the Jackson College & Career Access Center opened its doors to the community in May 2008, assisting both traditional and non-traditional students in attaining their education and career goals.  Today, the College & Career Access Center is a separate nonprofit organization that supports local school districts in improving student success by ensuring students are prepared to go to college, know how to navigate the college access process, and have the financial means to go. The College & Career Access Center welcomes visitors with the purpose of encouraging and informing students that post-secondary education is possible, under all circumstances and to prepare them for post-secondary education, and ultimately to enter the workforce.  Access advisors participate in college planning events with school districts providing students and parents with resources for career planning, scholarships, and financial aid. 


For more information about the College & Career Access Center, visit 


Community Collaboration



The purpose of the newly formed South Central Advocates and Leaders for Police and Community Trust ( ALPACT)  is to examine issues affecting police and community relations and ensure equitable enforcement of laws, including: racial profiling, police discretion, use of force, recruitment and training, citizen complaint processes, community partnering, and police leadership and management disciplinary practices.  This collaborative meets on the second Tuesday of each month at 10:00 AM at Baker College of Jackson.



Is a group of nonprofits, government, and faith based groups that meet on the 3rd Wednesday of each month at the United Way Center. This coalition is an informal group that discuss needs in the community and the ever changing sources of assistance that is available for those in need.  For more information about the Emergency Needs Coalition, visit


HUMAN SERVICE COORDINATING ALLIANCE – Ensuring a system of support for members of our community

The Human Service Coordinating Alliance (HSCA) is Jackson County's only director level collaborative among social service organizations.  Please observe our associated and member organizations page to get a well-rounded understanding of who is regularly involved. 


Overall, our mission is to ensure a system of support for members of our community.  In other words, leaders of the community gather together regularly to discuss how to provide and deliver the best human services possible to our community with the belief that we are stronger and more effective working together. Our goal is to improve collaboration and coordination amongst community support organizations.  The value and intent of the HSCA is to serve as a leader to the human services community as a "one roof" in an effort to coordinate/facilitate sufficient delivery and improve access to services within a person centered framework. 


The HSCA meets the 4th Monday of each month at noon in the Jackson County Human Services Building, 2nd Floor conference Room at 1715 Lansing Avenue, Jackson. For more information about the Human Service Coordinating Alliance, visit


Monica Moser, President & CEO, is a new member of the Jackson County Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors. The Jackson County Chamber of Commerce is a non-profit association of businesses and non-profits, committed to strengthening their businesses and the Jackson Community. With a proud history reaching back to 1909, the Jackson County Chamber of Commerce supports its members through promotion, advocacy, collaboration, networking events and education. For more information about the Jackson County Chamber of Commerce, please visit



Dana Ashlock, Program Director, has been a member of the Jackson Business and Professional Women (BPW) since 2012. She served as the President from 2014-2016. BPW is an innovative organization of working women that provides leadership opportunities for personal and professional growth along with opportunities to create change in your workplace and community. This diverse group is made up of seasoned and young professionals and includes business owners, executive directors and entrepreneurs. You’ll find their members at Allegiance Hospital, Baker College, Lloyd Ganton Retirement Centers, the Chamber of Commerce and the Jackson Community Foundation. Members are active leaders in the community and can be found supporting dozens of Jackson’s fine nonprofit organizations. BPW Members participate in Equal Pay Day and the Salvation Army Red Kettle Drive. We provide scholarships to support professional growth and development for women. The Vision is to partner to create successful workplaces for women, their families and employers. The Mission is to empower working women to achieve their full potential and partners with employers to build successful workplaces through education, research, knowledge and policy. For more information about the Jackson Business and Professional Women, please visit



Dana Ashlock, Program Director, has been serving on the FSN Coordinating Council since 2016.


Community Service